Freedom

 

Remember to price paid for freedom

Remember the price paid for freedom

This picture was taken on Jonathan’s 8th grade field trip to DC. I had the privilege of being a chaperon on this trip and I was especially affected by our visit to Arlington National Cemetery. I was moved to tears as hundreds of us stood in complete silence and watched the changing of the guard and the laying of this wreath by some of our CCS students. Even someone like myself who has fortunately never lost a loved one in combat can gain a real sense of the sacrifice so many have made for our freedom.

Naturally, this guides my thoughts to another sacrifice made very long ago. And a mother’s question…

A mother asked President Bush, “Why did my son have to die in Iraq?”
Another mother asked President Kennedy, “Why did my son have to die in Viet Nam?”
Another mother asked President Truman, “Why did my son have to die in Korea?”
Another mother asked President F.D. Roosevelt, “Why did my son have to die at Iwo Jima?”
Another mother asked President W. Wilson, “Why did my son have to die on the battlefield of France?”
Another mother asked President Lincoln, “Why did my son have to die at Gettysburg?”
Another mother asked President G. Washington, “Why did my son have to die near Valley Forge?”
But long, long ago another mother asked… “Heavenly Father, why did my Son have to die on a cross outside of Jerusalem?”

Regardless of how these men responded to this question, we know God the Father’s reason:
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

And our response? “You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love. The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Galatians 5:13-14

I hope that today as we are involved in the festivities of Independance Day we can stop and be thankful to all who sacrificed for our freedom, especially Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

