Pity Party

Today I held a pity party and the only invited guests were me, myself and I.
It started off when I received some disappointing news from a co-worker first thing this morning and by the time I got home this afternoon it was in full-swing.
Feeling like I really needed to shake it off before contaminating the rest of my family, I retreated to my bedroom where I put on my favorite song: “Never Let Go” by David Crowder Band.
Now if I was as savvy as my friend Cheri there would be a button for you to listen to this song right here on my blog, but since I am not here are the lyrics…

When clouds veil sun and disaster comes Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul
When waters rise and hope takes flight Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul

Ever faithful ever true You I know You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go

When clouds brought rain and disaster came Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul
When waters rose and hope had flown Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul – Oh, my soul

Ever faithful ever true You I know You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go

Oh, my soul overflows Oh, what love – Oh, what love
Oh, my soul fills with hope Perfect love that never lets go

You never let go – You never let go – You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go
You never let go – You never let go – You never let go

Oh, what love – Oh, what love – Oh, what love
Oh, what love – Oh, what love – Oh, what love
In joy and pain in sun and rain You’re the same. Oh, You never let go
In joy and pain in sun and rain You’re the same. Oh, You never let go
In joy and pain in sun and rain You’re the same. Oh, You never let go. Never let go.

This song provokes the image of God’s firm grip on me. Even during days like today when my grip on Him is not as tight as He would want it to be, I know that His grip on me is firm and He will “Never Let Go.”

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! His faithful love endures forever   …This is the day that the Lord has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:1, 24

2 thoughts on “Pity Party

  1. Tracy Trask says:

    Sus, it sounds like you did the right thing. I seem to stew in my pity parties and wait until someone comes home to see how upset I am…misery loves company, how pathetic!! Oh, btw, I also wish I were savvy like Cheri and put tunes on my blog, too. She needs to give savvy lessons.

  2. 2xjms says:

    yes, Tracy I wholeheartedly agree. I want to “sain” up for savvy lessons!

Leave a Reply

