Primacy Beach

Another really meaningful place for me on our Israel Tour was the Primacy. Actually, before we arrived I had no idea what significance the place had – I had never heard of it.
You might be familiar with the passage – John 21. It is after Jesus is resurrected and He appears to the disciples and makes them breakfast. This is believed to be the rock on which Jesus served that breakfast.

Church of the Primacy

Church of the Primacy

Just like most places in the Holy Land a church was built upon it – which for me takes away a little bit of the authenticity.

inside the Church of the Primacy

inside the Church of the Primacy

Nevertheless, standing on the shore of the Sea of Galilee hearing about how Jesus commisioned Peter after his denial was amazing.

Sea of Galilee at Primacy Beach

Sea of Galilee at Primacy Beach

Peter’s life was changed forever once he finally realized who Jesus was. This was the moment of Peter’s true conversion. I have read this passage countless times without much thought. Standing here it was like I was hearing it for the first time. I was touched deep down in my soul.

Rock of the Primacy

Rock of the Primacy

“He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love Me?” Peter was grieved because He said to him the third time, “Do you love Me?” And he said to Him, “Lord, You know all things; You know that I love You ” Jesus said to him, “Tend My sheep.”   John 21:17

I will never read this passage the same way again.

Leave a Reply

