James 1:27

"Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father
means caring for orphans and widows in their distress
and refusing to let the world corrupt you."   James 1:27  NLT

I have a little bit of trouble identifying with this particular passage. I wholeheartedly claim 2 Timothy 3:16-17   (“All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.” NLT) , but it’s been hard for me to apply the James passage to my life. What does it mean for me and for my family? God has been stirring my heart…

One huge reason this is so fresh is because I am watching some people who I love and respect live this out in a big way. They are putting their money where their mouths are (literally) and growing their family through adoption. International Adoption. It’s blessing me to watch them walk by faith and trust God so completely. You’d be doing yourself a huge favor by checking their adoption story here: Waiting for Rain. In fact, you should bookmark it. Better yet, subscribe to their updates. You’ll be blessed, too.

Today I got to assist them in a small way by helping out at their massive fund-raising yard sale. It doesn’t sound like a lot, but if you check out the pictures on their blog you might get a small idea of the amount of stuff that was donated to them. Good stuff. Furniture, TVs, clothes, exercise equipment, Christmas trees, clothes, toys, dishes, clothes, strollers, high chairs, frames, knickknacks, clothes, etc. Did I mention there was clothes? An unending pile. I spent a few hours helping to fill the hanging racks and tables yet when I left the pile looked like it hadn’t been touched. Oh, and that was after the early birds had done their shopping. Matt and Marilee were expecting to open for business at 1:00pm today, giving them time to sort and price items this morning. I arrived around 8:30am to help with that and when they opened the gate to let me in, following behind were the first shoppers. A steady stream and they spent money. Lots of money. God is good.

They’ll be at it again tomorrow morning, bright and early at 6:00am. Come, bring some cash and check it out. Location listed on their blog Waiting for Rain

Leave a Reply

